Board of Directors

Dee Bishop Dee Bishop is a Pettit family board member, founding board member and currently President of the Board of Directors and chair of the Pettit Preserve Fundraising Committee. She is employed by Dellinger Management and has served on various fundraising event committees for the Good Neighbor Homeless Shelter and other local charities. A graduate of Leadership of Bartow, Dee has served as President of the Cartersville Service League. Dee also serves on the Georgia Highlands College Foundation Board of Trustees.
Marlu Dellinger Marlu Dellinger is a Pettit family board member and has been on the Pettit Preserve Board since 2009. Marlu was the co-chair of the 2013 Good Neighbor Homeless Shelter Dancing with the Stars fundraiser which raised over $25,000. As a participant, Marlu won the dance competition and raised over $6,000 individually. Marlu has served in the Cartersville Service League in several leadership capacities including president. Marlu is the owner of BodyPlex Family Fitness in Cartersville.
Billy Fleetwood Billy Fleetwood is the owner of Fleetwood Security and Electronics Services, Inc. in Cartersville and has served on the Pettit Board since 2011. He is the chair of the Educational Center Building Committee and serves on the Preserve’s Grounds/Facilities Committee. Billy is a charter member and past President of the Bartow Rotary Club, has served on many committees for Boy Scout Troop 24. He was the recipient of the Boy Scout’s Silver Beaver award in 2008. He chartered and chaired the Etowah Valley Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation and is a life sponsor of Ducks Unlimited. In his spare time he enjoys hunting, fishing, hiking, gardening and volunteering.
Tom Hall Tom Hall is a retired Bell South employee and has been a member of the Pettit Preserve Board since 2010. Tom currently serves on the Grounds/Facilities Committee and is chair of the Board Development committee. An avid fisherman, hunter and outdoorsman, Tom has served on the board of Cartersville Recreation, Big Brothers/Sisters and is active with Georgia Forest Watch.
TJ Hemphill TJ Hemphill is a Pettit family member and has worked at New Riverside Ochre since 2002. He is very involved in camping, fishing, and other outdoor pursuits. T.J. has served on the Board since 2015 and currently serves on the Grounds Committee.
Alison Moore Alison Moore has served on the Board of Directors since March 2015 and is currently the Secretary, chair of the membership committee and a trained education volunteer. Alison is a former school teacher for the Bartow County Board of Education and former owner of Personal Best Training. A native of Maine, Alison has a BS in Marketing Management from Bentley University and is a certified math and health teacher in the state of Georgia. She has served as a volunteer youth basketball coach and volunteer children’s music leader.
Brenda Morehouse
Leah Augustine Phillips Leah Augustine Phillips is part owner with husband, Ivan Phillips, of The Delos Company, a manufacturer and importer of custom area rugs and private jet carpets out of Calhoun, GA. An advocate for healthy environments both inside and out, Leah is a member of the Sustainable Furnishings Council. Both Leah and Ivan are currently involved in an upstart company named Paragon Wool Products that manufactures sustainable/biodegradable/recyclable wool products for the home such as: thermal and acoustical insulation, pillows, and loose fiberfill for upholstered goods, hobby and crafts. Currently Leah participates in an accredited speaking tour on behalf of the Campaign for Wool, New Zealand, educating interior designers and architects Nationwide about the viability of natural solutions for the home. Leah is a graduate of Leadership Bartow, is active with Advocates for Children, and is the newest member of the Pettit Preserve Board. Leah brings experience in event planning and fundraising.
Alan Sanders Alan Sanders is the owner of AJS Productions, a local web design, video production and SEO marketing company. He is also a writer/director/radio host for local station WBHF. He has served on various nonprofit boards including United Way of Bartow County. Alan joined the Board in October 2015 and heads up the Marketing & Public Relations Committee.
Helen Taylor Helen Taylor is a retired educator and has served on the Pettit Preserve Board since 2009. She serves on the fundraising committee and is a trained education volunteer. Helen’s education career spanned teaching elementary school age through adults. A few of the institutions she has taught at include Faulkner University, University of Georgia, Cloverleaf Elementary, Huxford Elementary and Eastern Shore Art Academy. Helen has illustrated books, worked as a cartoonist and taught art workshops for community art guilds. Helen is a member of the Booth Artist Guild of the Booth Western Art Museum.
Jamie Lee Tucker Jamie Lee Tucker is a Pettit family member and joined the Board of Directors in February of 2016 . She obtained her B.A. in English from Kennesaw State University and is currently in school for her Master's in Education. She is an English teacher at Cartersville Middle School. Jamie Lee is a published author with her writing in publications such as Relapse Magazine and Refinery29. Jamie Lee loves the outdoors and is passionate about teaching through nature. She also serves as a volunteer educator at The Pettit Preserve.
Ann Warren Ann Warren has served on the board of directors since December 2010 and is currently the Vice President. Ann is a trained education volunteer for the Preserve and has a Master’s degree in education. She has worked both in the classroom and as a liaison between schools and hospital education programs. In the community, Ann has served as 2nd Vice President for the Cartersville Service League, on the board of Directors for the Etowah Education Foundation and Tranquility House and taught Youth Sunday School at her church.

Past Board Members

Stan Bearden is the past Vice President of the Pettit Preserve Board, has been a member of the board since 2007 and is currently chair of the Grounds/Facilities Committee. Stan is employed by New Riverside Ochre as Vice President of Operations. Stan is a geologist and has served on the Board of Directors for the Georgia Mining Association, the Association of State Boards of Geology, the Bartow County Board of Education, The Cartersville Planning Commission and the Lake Allatoona Preservation Authority. A US Air Force veteran, Stan has been published in a number of geology journals. He is currently a member of the Bartow Rotary Club and Cartersville Optimist Club.
Linda Benton was a founding member of the Pettit Preserve board, 20 year member of the Cartersville City School Board (15th year as president), charter member of the Cartersville-Bartow Community Foundation (2001), and a member of the Etowah Valley Historical Society. Linda has served as a staff member at the Sam Jones United Methodist Church for 28 years and serves on the advisory board of the Children’s Learning Center at Sam Jones.
Debbie Dellinger Ruff was a Pettit family member and served on the Board of Directors since 2007. Debbie worked for many years at Chemical Products, Inc. as a processor in the chemical lab. Debbie passed in November 2015.
Gay Dellinger was the founder of the Pettit Preserve and in 1999, put 60-acres of property in conservation for preservation and education so that children, students and schools would have a place to go and reconnect with nature. She left behind an educational legacy for future generations. Gay passed away in November 2009.